Red Velvet Cake, this week in cooking

Red Velvet Cake, this week in cooking

My Mother’s red velvet cake recipe is the only recipe in the world I actually read. Or at least, refer to. It’s irritating and funny…this recipe. I always get worked up when I look at it.

This shit is like a rare find from an archaeological dig. I don’t know when she wrote this, probably in the 60’s. Aside from how terribly it’s arranged, it highlights how godawful the “Imperial” system of weights and measures is.

Dreadful.

Anyway, this is the only recipe you’ll ever see me blog. Go ahead and use it, if you want. It’s the “correct” red velvet cake. Not a chocolate cake with red coloring. Not a plastic wrapped, creamcheese icing goo-ball.

Save yourself a meltdown and go ahead and double the icing recipe.

That recipe calls for buttermilk. When was the last time you saw full fat buttermilk? WTF is up with 2% Buttermilk? It’s buttermilk. Why would anyone want anything less than all the fat?

Why.

Anyway, leftover buttermilk means…

Hell yeah. Buttermilk pancakes.

This is some kind of lemony butter cookies I made for my son.

Ham and Cabbage is sublime with a really good stock. Trim all fat and dark exterior from your ham bone. Put that bone on a very very very slow boil. You should only see a burble every once in awhile. Let it simmer for 4 hours or more. It should be virtually clear, light, and the fat bubbles very small. You can use this immediately for a soup. No need to separate.

I also used some of that buttermilk in my chicken parm wash. This makes it very rich and heavy.

One last thing. I highly recommend roasting your root vegetables. It actually cuts down your prep time and focuses the taste. Roasted root vegetables don’t need anything else. They are yum by themselves.

Keep them covered when you remove them from the oven. The skin is more easily removed. Whenever your main dish is done, these can quickly be cleaned up, sliced, and salt, pepper, sugar…whatever, to taste.

Leave a comment